Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Athletes Without Limits Wins NRRL Title!

The runners from team Athletes Without Limits brought their A-game to Sunday's Race For A Cause 8k and wrapped up the 2012 NRRL finale with an impressive victory!  AWL edged out the Capital Alumni Network and DC Running Coach in a 3-way winner-take-all race.  Evolution Personal Training Studio was on hand once again with solid finishes for the 4th place finish.

The final team standings are pasted below. 

AWL's efforts were led by Laura Zeilinger, who was the top NRRL finisher and top master's finisher in the overall field.  Melani Hom was 2nd across the line and earned the individual title for the women this year!  CAN captain Natalie Allgeier was the 3rd runner and just missed the top-3 in the final standings, as she was edged out by teammate Cristina Nistler.  Elissa Sosland ended up running the most NRRL races among females, with eight finishes.  Here are the top-10 standings for individual females:

In the men's field, Steve Leibowitz finally took first in a NRRL race and maintained his lead over teammate Tyler Howell as the CAN tandem finished 1-2 in the final standings.  Jim Robichaud was 2nd in the 8k, helping lift AWL to its team title.  Max Huffman and Mouli Nagaraja were the next two runners across the line in the 8k, just ahead of Memo Saenz and Barry Holman, who ended up 3rd and 4th in the final NRRL standings.  Here are the top-10 finishers this year for the males:

Click HERE for all final 2012 NRRL Team and Individual race results.

Congratulations to all DC area runners who participated in the 2012 National Road Racing League, and thank you for being ambassadors for a growing league!  Your support and enthusiasm are greatly appreciated.  2013 promises to be a bigger and better version of competitive team racing!

See you at the post-season after party on November 9th at Penn Social!